Have an issue with your insurance?
Let everyone know!
Insurance companies are constantly reviewing us. Are we too old? Do we live in the wrong place? Is our credit score high enough? Well, now it's time to turn the tables. Do you charge too much? Will you pay my claim quickly? Is your coverage worse than it seems? We can review you too.
Top Insurance Companies
Ranked by Complaint Relativity
DOCTORS CO 0.00
PROASSURANCE 0.00
LIBERTY MUTUAL 0.00
APOLLO GLOBAL MGMT 26.19
SENTRY 32.66
BCBS OF MI 40.72
unknown - Determining “date of loss”
I recently lost all my belongings due to mold in my house that I lived in July 2023-February 2025. I got insurance starting August 2024. I became very ill and moved in with family Dec 2024, returned to the room in Feb 2025 to find it covered in mold after a bad storm. I was not aware that the mold was causing my illness or that there was even mold in my home until Feb 2025. It’s looking like an almost complete loss of my belongings.
My insurance company manipulated me into stating that the date of loss was Feb 2024, when I made a maintenance request to fix a leaky window. I didn’t understand the implications of this and the agent was kind of pushing me to agree that Feb 2024 was the “date of loss” and not Feb 2025, because that was the first documentation I had of a moisture issue in the house. The next day she tells me it’s unlikely I can recover any claim money because I got insurance in August 2024, and the loss happened before that date.
Can anyone help? Id like to make an appeal if my claim is rejected but I’d like to know how I can defend myself here.
HO3 - HOA requiring owner to pay or file individual claim for roof damage after hurricane
We live in a townhome in Florida with an HOA. For context, we do have an HO3 policy. After Hurricane Milton, we sustained damage to the roof of our unit, which caused leakage into our garage.
We notified the HOA after seeing the damage, and we were advised that when there is a “named storm”, the individual owners are responsible for paying for roof repairs. The HOA coordinated repair with the company that services our roofs, and we were advised we could pay out of pocket or file a claim with our own individual insurance company. The amount is $2000, but our hurricane deductible is much larger, so we will elect to pay out of pocket IF it’s accurate that HOA is off the hook.
We have a copy of our bylaws but cannot see where we are responsible for this repair. All other times where there have been roof leaks, the HOA covers repairs. We asked the board members to point to where in our bylaws that it states we are responsible, but they refuse to answer.
Does anyone have any insight? I will also post this to the HOA sub.
Thank you!
Thin Blue Line Benefits - Thin Blue Line Benefits change in coverage
Anyone currently enrolled in TBL please be aware they have changed how they are "insuring" retired first responders and their families. We have filed a complaint with the Ohio board of insurance. They have changed our plans without giving us the option of deciding if it's how we want to be covered. They have changed what medications will be covered and how our providers will be paid.
Geico - Geico totaled my car even though repairs cost less than the 75% threshold. What can I do?
I recently got into a car accident where I was rear-ended. The only damages were to my bumper and trunk. Geico gave me $2,000 to start repairs and said the shop could request more money if needed. I decided to take my car to Mercedes so dealer parts would be used.
Mercedes told me they’d handle everything, but for two weeks I heard nothing from them or Geico. Then Geico called and said my car would be a total loss because Mercedes’ estimate was $9,671, which they said was above the 75% threshold.
Geico valued my 2017 Mercedes C300 at $12,636. I did my own evaluation, adding in features/options Geico left out and $5,200 worth of maintenance I’d just done a week before the accident. After I sent my report, Geico updated the value to $15,453. At that value, the repair cost is clearly under the 75% threshold.
Instead of changing the decision, Geico switched it from a “construction loss” to a “financial loss” and still marked it as salvage. Meanwhile, Mercedes had already taken my car apart without telling me, which caused storage fees to pile up, around $6,000. I was told the fees would only be waived if I fixed my car with them, which basically left me with no choice.
What made me upset is that Geico ended up paying Mercedes about $7,700 for the initial estimate and storage fees, instead of just approving the $9,671 to fix the car. When I finally got my car back, it was still disassembled, with the bumper and parts thrown inside. Mercedes didn’t even bother to put it back together after being paid thousands of dollars.
Given my car’s updated value, the repair cost is way below the 75% threshold, so how is it still being considered a total loss? I even asked if I could take it to a different shop for another estimate (since Mercedes is more expensive), and was told no.
This whole process feels really unfair, and I don’t understand why my car is being treated as a total loss when it shouldn’t be.
my ins co - In which states are balance billing waivers illegal?
I reported a provider to my ins co for balance billing. The provider wanted me to sign a waiver allowing them to balance bill me. I asked the rep if this waiver is illegal, and/or would it get the provider kicked off for violating their contract. I really couldn't get a straight answer. I was just told that unfortunately a lot of providers do this, and there's no guarantee of what will happen to them.
Is it worth it to also report them to my state's insurance division? I don't want to waste my time if these balance billing waivers are legal.
Medi-Cal - Medi-Cal switched to SSI P??????
Hello all, I am here hoping to find some clarity as to what happened and if I did anything wrong.
For context I am chronically ill and have ESRD (end stage renal disease), I am on dialysis 3 times a week, awaiting a kidney transplant.
For the last 3 years I have had Medi-Cal and it was handled through California DPSS. This has been the case since I applied. Even when I went into kidney failure and went on dialysis, my medi-cal was still handled by DPSS. I even subsequently applied for Social Security Disability and still my Medi-cal was handled through DPSS. I was just hospitalized last month for a week, so I know that my insurance was definitely still active at that point.
Well today, I called my PCP to make an appt and was told my insurance was no longer active. After HOURS of standing in line at the DPSS office, I find out that my medi-cal was transferred to Social Security at the end of March - Without giving me any notice: not even so much as a letter.
I’m baffled… I now have to restart the process of picking out a medical group and all that stuff… how did this happen?? Why?? And did I do something wrong????
Progressive - mind-boggling auto insurance rate increases in California
Six months ago when Progressive abruptly raised my 6-month premium rate by 20% the only explanation given was that "auto parts prices are rising quickly".
Today Progressive raised my 6-month premium rate again by another 20% with the only explanation "high inflation in California".
$1800 every six months is insanity.
My car is nearly 10 years old and I only drive it to grocery store and maybe a restaurant now and then.
I'm 60+ with clean DMV.
What is Progressive trying to do there ? Is this legal or outright fraud ? If it's legal are they attempting adverse selection to eliminate California policies ? ( I've read about this for home insurance but not auto. )
What should I do ?
Root Insurance - Think i'm screwed, what to do (Hail Damage)
Okay so I have a new vehicle, and I decided to use Root Insurance. Usually the insurance websites automatically add comprehensive and collision when you state it's financed. So I thought it had. Anyway, it was liability only. Now last week there was a hailstorm and it did some damage to the car. Not hardcore but it js noticeable up close. What can I do? All I can do is fix it right with my own money? Will the bank go after me? I'm just so lost right now any advice would be appreciated.
Trupanion - Just got a denial from Trupenion and wondering if I should just cancel
The claim was for dental surgery
(periodontal disease). The reason it was denied is that the cat had no previous medical records showing his dental condition. They also said that no single exam is going to be enough to establish he didn't have previous dental problems, they need to see a record of his health over time.
I do realise that dental is a separate category as far as most insurence companies are concerned, but I also wonder if they won't use the same reasoning in future claims. How can I prove something wasn't a preexisting condition if I don't have records?
Some background: My cat who is now 8 year old, grew up as a partly feral street cat in a non western country. Yearly vet visits for cats are not common practice there, and with him being the kind of cat that requires sedatives in order to get in a carrier, he ended up visiting a clinic even less than the average cat.
In short he has barely any medical records from before arriving in Canada last year.
I was actually a little surprised to see that I could even get insurance for a cat his age, but now I'm starting to suspect that they're just fine with taking my money but will never approve a claim.
TLDR: Should I cancel an 8 year old cats insurence if he doesn't have any previous medical records?
Progressive - Progressive claims they paid $5,000 to pick up my car from the tow yard. Tow yard is claiming Progressive paid them nothing.
Hi, I am really lost and in need of advice. I was involved in an accident where my car had to be towed away (edit: to a combined autobody & tow shop). Because the airbag deployed, they were assuming it would be totaled, and Progressive said they were coming to pick it up to evaluate the damage themselves; not allowing the body shop to give an estimate. (edit: 2013 Kia Optima) I was told by Progressive that the driver at fault carried the minimum property damage allowed by the state of Maryland and he was "afraid we were nearing that limit since they paid $5,000 to get my car released from the tow lot." My car was there for 1 week (8-5 thru 8-12) and I released it to Progressive on (8-8), they just didn't pick it up until today, 8-12. I thought that was a crazy amount, so I called the tow yard(edit: combined tow yard/body shop). They claim Progressive did not pay them a dime. The body shop only received a check from a salvage company (which I didn't (at least knowingly) authorize, and they don't even have proof of the title in my name.) The tow yard (edit: combined tow yard/body shop) is claiming that even though they got a salvage check, that shouldn't affect the amount insurance should pay me. Does anyone have any additional information or advice? Is this just a "he said / she said" situation? TYIA!
Make A Complaint
Loading...